Given that Cork city was still recovering from the devastating floods of a week earlier, it was perhaps appropriate that the Cork Chapter’s Christmas Party on 28th November was held in the Port of Cork (formerly Cork Harbour Commissioners) offices at the Customs House. Water, trade and the harbour were themes in the talk by Dr. Alicia St. Leger as she outlined the history of customs houses in Cork, particularly the present attractive building which opened in 1818.
The group enjoyed the welcome warmth and wonderful elegance of the Boardroom with its stunning plasterwork, designed in 1906 by engineer James Price. It compliments perfectly the earlier part of the building which was designed by Abraham Hargraves (junior) and consists of officers, including a fine long room with Corinthian columns, over vaulted bonded warehouses. There are more warehouses to the rear, with attractive canopies surviving on one side, although these listed structures sadly are in poor condition.