Tuesday, November 26, 2013

A Visit to Kinsale by the Cork Chapter of the Irish Georgian Society

Despite heavy rain on the previous day, the sun actually shone for most of the Cork Chapter’s outing to Kinsale on 19th October 2013.

The group gathered first at St. John the Baptist Church, courtesy of Fr. Robert Young, P.P.  This neo-Classical church was built in 1832 on the site of an earlier small chapel.  It owes its existence to Fr. Justin McNamara, parish priest of Kinsale, whose travels to Italy influenced his architectural taste.  He is commemorated in the church in a striking memorial by his friend John Hogan, the renowned sculptor.  The church is an elegant and beautifully crafted building, with outstanding plasterwork, attractive woodwork, galleries, memorials, all lit by tall clear glass windows.  The organ predates the church, being built in London in 1809 by Hugh Russell & Son and is still in regular use after a recent restoration.  Members enjoyed examining the details of this well cared for church, which was being prepared for a wedding later that day.

Flowers on the pews indicated that a wedding had been held recently in St. Multose Church, the next place that the group visited.  Canon David Williams provided an excellent tour of this beautiful building, providing not only fascinating historical facts, but also commenting on the practical challenges of caring for a structure of this age.  Parts of the church date to the 12th century and it has been much altered over the centuries. Cork Chapter members were fascinated by the many details in the church, particularly the fine 20th century stained glass.  One window was erected in memory of members of the Dorman family and of Lennox Robinson, author and director of the Abbey Theatre, Dublin.

It was then time for the Walkabout, led by Dr. Alicia St. Leger, which brought the group through part of the higher ground in Kinsale.  The first stop was at the historic Market House, dating to the 17th century and later used as a courthouse.  It is now a museum.  Then all climbed up to view the former St. Joseph’s Convent of Mercy building.  The convent was founded in 1844 and the order was encouraged to come to Kinsale by Mrs. Burke, the sister of Fr. McNamara who built St. John the Baptist Church.  The convent educated generations of children and also had an important lace making school. The large, prominent building is now undergoing restoration.

A walk along the Ramparts brought the group to view the Southwell Gift Houses, a charming group of small buildings dating to 1682.  The almshouses owe their origin to Sir Robert Southwell of Kinsale and were originally designed for eight needy people.  There was provision also for an infirmary for the sole use of the Southwell family.  The houses were restored in the 1960s and still provide accommodation for the elderly.

It was a short walk to the Municipal Hall and Bowling Green.  The hall was originally the Assembly Rooms and the area was a focus for leisure entertainments in the 18th and 19th centuries.  The building was burned in 1922 and subsequently rebuilt.  This part of Kinsale provides stunning views over the harbour and it was interesting to look down on the many leisure craft that have largely replaced the busy fishing fleet of previous centuries.

Following a well-earned and delicious lunch at Acton’s Hotel, the group re-assembled at Charles Fort.  There the guide, William, provided an authoritative and most interesting tour of the late 17th century star-shaped fort.  Designed by William Robinson, the fort is one of the largest military installations in the country.  The fort’s walls were breached by the forces of King William III in 1690, following a siege.  Although the fort was burned during the Irish Civil War, some of the buildings have been restored.  The guide brought history to life, explaining the role of the different buildings, the lives of those men and women who were based there and how the fort fits into an international context.  All in all, it was a fascinating visit, helped too by the sunshine and the wonderful views from the fort itself.

Thursday, November 14, 2013

A Grand Tour Exhibition at the Boole Library Cork by Artist Geraldine O'Riordan

Exhibition Opening at the Boole Library, University College Cork on Thursday, 3rd October, 2013

On a wet autumnal evening, members and friends assembled for an exhibition in celebration of ten years of the Cork Chapter in the splendid surroundings of the Boole Library.  Aptly named A Grand Tour, the paintings by artist Geraldine O'Riordan depict cameo views of some of the finest buildings visited in the past ten years.  Geraldine's idea was to create a body of work that would epitomise a cross section of these superb outings organised by herself and her committee colleagues, Kevin Hurley (Chairman), Dr. Alicia St. Leger, Catherine FitzMaurice, Edmund Corrigan and Maura Currivan.  Some are included in Viewing a Morrison which was purchased by the Cork Chapter as a gift for the new Irish Georgian Society headquarters at the City Assembly House, South William Street, Dublin.

The opening speaker at the exhibition was Peter Murray, Director of the Crawford Gallery, Cork.  Peter underlined the importance of this strand of our heritage suggesting that the paintings had an "important narrative" and were "personal and painterly expressions of our Georgian heritage".

The exhibition runs through December 20th, 2013 and images of the paintings may be viewed on www.geraldineoriordan.com

A Visit to the Historic Roscrea Area

Members were warmly welcomed at Gloster House by Tom and Mary Alexander.  Tom gave us a talk about the history of the house before leading us on a fascinating tour.  It was thought to have been constructed in the early 1700s when it became the seat of the Lloyd family who remained in ownership until 1958.  The house was acquired by the Salesian nuns who held it until 1991 after which it fell into disrepair for a number of years until it was purchased by the Alexanders in 2001.

The Alexander family are to be complimented on their wonderful restoration work which they have carried out since 2001.  So much caught the eye including the double height entrance hall, the elaborate plaster panelling, the re-instatement of the second staircase and the vaulted corridors on the first floor.  Tom pointed out the arch flanked by two obelisks in the grounds of the house considered to be the work of Sir Edward Lovett Pearce, a relation of the Lloyd family.

Our next visit was to Marcus and Irene Sweeney at Fancroft Mill and Gardens. We were greeted with refreshments on our arrival.  Marcus then gave us a fascinating lecture followed by a tour of the building and a demonstration of the mill's production capability.  The Pim family who were quaker millers commenced the construction of the mill in the 1780s.  At various stages in its history sections were added.  Milling ceased by the mid 1940s though the building was used as a grain storage facility until the early 1900s.

Marcus and Irene commenced the extensive conservation in 2006.  A set of new mill stones were installed in 2010 and the mill is now capable of producing brown flour, white flour and semolina.  In addition a generator contributes to the domestic heating system of their own house which stands next to the mill.

Irene took us on a tour of the wonderful gardens at Fancroft which were created in the 1990s by the previous owner, Angela Jupe.  The gardens cover 1.5 hectares and include herbaceous borders, woodland, fruit paddocks and a kitchen garden as well as garden summer houses.

Members headed off to the Cistercian Abbey of Mount St Joseph for a hearty lunch.  The property was originally known as the Mount Heaton Demesne and had been at one stage the home of Richard Heaton, an English Clergyman and botanist.  Arthur J. Moore, MP, of Mooresfort House purchased the house for the order in 1878.  He was a devout and committed Catholic landlord who became a Papal Count.

Following lunch we were taken on a very interesting tour of the church and library.

Our last visit of the day was to Damer House which was built for the Damer family in the early 1700s inside the walled courtyard of a thirteenth century Butler castle.  The house was originally intended to be their family residence but they only lived in it for a brief period.  In the 1960s the building fell into disrepair and was scheduled for demolition.  The Old Roscrea Society and the Irish Georgian Society fought vehemently to save it and were fortunately successful.  Members enjoyed a most interesting tour of the house and castle.

Castletown House, Leixlip Castle and Furness House

The Cork Chapter is celebrating its tenth anniversary this year (2013) and to honour the occasion, a celebratory visit was made to County Kildare.  Travelling by coach, members enjoyed a splendid – if long – day!

The first visit was to Castletown House, near Celbridge, which is both the earliest and finest Palladian house in the country.  It was built between 1722 and 1729 for William Connolly, Speaker of the Irish House of Commons, and was designed by Italian architect Alessandro Galilei.  The house was saved for future generations through the personal intervention of Desmond Guinness.  Members enjoyed lunch at the house, before being taken on a very informative tour of the building.  The Irish Georgian Society has had a long association with Castletown and Cork Chapter members admired the magnificence of a building that was so nearly lost to the nation.  It is now managed by the Office of Public Works in conjunction with the Castletown Foundation.

The next stop was Leixlip Castle, home of Desmond and Penny Guinness who provided the group with a warm welcome, delicious refreshments and a fascinating tour of the castle.  The original Anglo-Norman castle was built on a rock at the confluence of the rivers Liffey and Rye and dates to 1171.  It has been altered over the centuries and was acquired by Desmond Guinness in 1958.  Members of the group greatly appreciated the hospitality shown by Desmond Guinness who has contributed so much to the Irish Georgian Society over his lifetime.

The final visit of the day was to Furness House, home of Patrick Guinness, president of the Irish Georgian Society.  He and his wife Louise made Cork Chapter members very welcome and provided an informative and entertaining tour of this attractive 18th century Palladian building.  It was a fitting end to a day that was steeped in historical significance for the Cork Chapter of the Irish Georgian Society.

This tenth anniversary visit to Kildare was the brainchild of Kevin Hurley and was organized by him and Maura Currivan, to whom thanks are given.

Barryscourt Castle, East Ferry, Cloyne and the Old Deanery Gardens

East Cork was the destination for the Cork Chapter excursion on 25th May 2013.  Attendees gathered at Barryscourt Castle, near Carrigtohill, where tour guide Robin treated them to an excellent tour of this important building.  Those present explored the 16th century castle which has been sensitively restored and is surrounded by an orchard and herb garden.

The next stop was Holy Trinity Church of Ireland at East Ferry, a beautifully sited building perched on the edge of a wooded inlet.  There the group was welcomed by the Dean, the Very Reverend Alan Marley, and by Dr. Joan Rockley. Dr. Rockley provided a very informative history of the building which was constructed between 1865 and 1867 to the design of William Atkins.  Of particular interest in the church is the exposed polychromatic brickwork and roof trusses.

Then it was on to Ballycotton where a delicious lunch was served at ‘The Herring Gull’ restaurant.  Suitably fortified, the group next visited St. Colman’s Church of Ireland Cathedral in Cloyne.  Led by Kevin Hurley and Dr. Alicia St. Leger, members of the group made their way through the flower filled graveyard to examine the exterior of the building before admiring the many interior historic and artistic features.  The cathedral dates to about 1250, but has its origins in a sixth century monastic foundation.  A round tower stands nearby.  The cathedral has been altered many times and was extensively renovated in the 18th and 19th centuries.  Amongst the important memorials is a fine monument to Bishop George Berkeley.

The final destination was The Old Deanery Gardens on the outskirts of Cloyne.  There the Cork Chapter members were given a warm welcome and delicious refreshments by Martin and Janet Edwardes.  The tour of the garden included the attractive pond, magnificent woodland walks and the beautiful walled garden.  For many, though, the highlight was the miniature garden railway!

Thanks to Kevin Hurley for organizing a highly enjoyable outing to the Cloyne area.

A Visit to the Lee Valley in April 2013

A tour, partly focused on the unusual theme of hydro-electric power, was enjoyed by the Cork Chapter on 25th April, 2013.

Our first stop was Rockrohan House, the impressive home of Richard Wood.  Set in a beautiful parkland, the Italianate House was added to an earlier eighteenth century house.  It has an attractive single storey porch and a canted bay to one side.  We enjoyed cream teas and coffee in the wonderful ambience of Rockrohan's dining room.  Richard provided an informed description of his romantic Irish landscapes that adorn the walls.  Following this, he produced two montage pencil sketches of Cork's landmark building which challenged our knowledge of local heritage structures.  Our Georgian element ended here as the theme changed to a more industrial nature.

Inniscarra hydro-electric power station is one of two dams constructed in the 1950s to harness the water of the River Lee for electrical power, the other being Carrigadrohid.  It involved the creation of two lakes in the picturesque Lee Valley.  Here we were welcomed by our guides Rebecca and Colm.  Having viewed an education film, we entered the control room.  The workings of the generators and the important business of water level control, by sluice-type spillway gates, were explained by the operators and there was no shortage of questions by our learned group!  The dam is of the buttress type and the sheer drop of 42 metres was experienced by viewing it from the bridge.  A stunning view of the lake on the other side was observed.  The fish pass and hatchery operations were explained at this point by our informed guides.  Surprisingly, a family of otters was spotted in the waters below ... not so unusual according to guides Colm and Rebecca.

Toon's Bridge Cafe provided an appetising lunch.  Here, Jenny-Rose put on an array of antipasti starters, tasty chorizo stew, a delicious chocolate raspberry brownie and excellent coffee.  As a result there was a rush to pick up some goodies to bring home from the dairy shop next door.  We then departed for Bealick Mill.

Bealick Mill was constructed by the Harding family in 1797 and benefitted greatly from the Napoleonic wars.  Following a period of decline and disuse, it came into its own as a 'heritage centre',  It has seen many uses in its day and our guide, John carroll, recounted how it had supplied street lighting for Macroom while London was still relying on gas lights.  Furthermore, Charlie Bird's ancestor was the engineer responsible!  Originally a corn grinding mill, it was later used for Macroom oatmeal production.  Having seen many years of dereliction, today the mill house stands respendently restored while its wheel once again turns to the force of the Larney River.

Georgian splendour, the best local food and hydro-electric power on the River Lee were pleasantly exhilarating!

A Lecture by Patrick Guinness at Fota House in March, 2013

The Cork Chapter of the Irish Georgian Society was delighted to welcome the president of the society, Patrick Guinness, to present a lecture "How my parents Desmond and Mariga influenced me".  Patrick was appointed the third president of the Irish Georgian Society in 2012.

The group enjoyed lunch which was followed by a tour of Fota by Geraldine O'Riordan who delighted the attendees on the day with her great knowledge of the house and its art works.  Prior to the talk given by Patrick, Alicia St Leger and Kevin Hurley presented a short ten year review of visits and events.

Patrick's talk was enjoyed by all.  He talked about the early days of the society when his parents Desmond and his late mother Mariga were involved in so many different aspects of fund raising and generating publicity for the good work of the society.

Irish Architectural and Decorative Studies Journal Launch in Cork 2013

On 26th January 2013 the Cork Chapter hosted the launch of the Journal of the Irish Georgian Society.  The event began with lunch at Isaac’s Restaurant in MacCurtain Street, attended by fifty-five members, some of whom travelled long distances to be present.  Many of them bravely took part in a walking tour in very heavy rain!  Led by Dr. Alicia St. Leger, the group explored some of the varieties of architecture found in the city centre from the High Victorian streetscape of MacCurtain Street to the restrained Georgian architecture of North Mall and Grenville Place.  Crossing Washington Street provided an opportunity to look at a streetscape featured in an article by Louise Harrington in the journal.  Not far from there, the group looked up at the impressive ramparts of Elizabeth Fort, before reaching St. Fin Barre’s Cathedral.

Richard Wood was the guide at the cathedral and he provided a fascinating tour of the building, both outside and then in the welcome dryness of the interior.  He is renowned for his encyclopaedic knowledge of the building which he imparts with energy and enthusiasm.  The cathedral was consecrated in 1870 and was designed in every detail by the English architect, William Burges.

Richard Wood then launched Irish Architectural and Decorative Studies: the Journal of the Irish Georgian Society.  He recalled the many campaigns with which the society was involved over the years and commended the journal to one and all.  Refreshments were then served, co-ordinated by Maura Currivan and Geraldine O’Riordan.  Thanks to Kevin Hurley for all his work in connection with the event.

A Visit to The South Parish of Cork City

Members of the Cork Chapter braved cold conditions to tour buildings in the South Parish of Cork city on 24th November 2012.  The group, led by Dr. Alicia St. Leger, met at the Anglesea Road side of Cork City Hall, built in 1936  to the design of the Dublin architectural firm of Jones and Kelly.  Just across the road is the distinctive former Model School, designed by James Owen and first opened in 1865.  It was divided into boys, girls and infants divisions.  It also had a maritime school and the campanile was used to observe shipping in the harbour.  It was recently restored and is now Cork District Court House.

The group then walked to Newenham Terrace, noting en route the attractive architecture of Saint Joachim and Anne’s Home, built in 1860 to the design of Cork architect Henry Hill.  Newenham Terrace was constructed about the same date and members were delighted to see the interior of a recently restored house in the terrace.  The house has been modernised using best conservation standards and a warm welcome was given to the group.

Back in the cold outdoors, the group next visited St. FinBarr’s South Chapel in Dunbar Street.  Known affectionately as the ‘South Chapel’, it was built in 1766 and is an interesting example of an early pre-Emancipation chapel.  The best known feature of the church today is the carving of the ‘Dead Christ’ by renowned sculptor John Hogan (1800-1858).  Hogan lived for a time in nearby Cove Street.  Not far away is the South Presentation Convent, founded in 1776, where the group was given a fascinating tour of the buildings by Sr. Rosario.  The convent on Douglas Street is where Nano Nagle began her schools for the education of the poor and she is buried in the nuns’ graveyard there.

The tour concluded at the Religious Society of Friends (Quakers) Meeting House, built in 1938 to the design of William Henry Hill.  The simple building replaced an earlier meeting house on Grattan Street in the city centre.  Members of the group received wonderful hospitality at the Meeting House and enjoyed good food prepared by Myrtle Allen and Geraldine O’Riordan.