Thursday, November 14, 2013

Irish Architectural and Decorative Studies Journal Launch in Cork 2013

On 26th January 2013 the Cork Chapter hosted the launch of the Journal of the Irish Georgian Society.  The event began with lunch at Isaac’s Restaurant in MacCurtain Street, attended by fifty-five members, some of whom travelled long distances to be present.  Many of them bravely took part in a walking tour in very heavy rain!  Led by Dr. Alicia St. Leger, the group explored some of the varieties of architecture found in the city centre from the High Victorian streetscape of MacCurtain Street to the restrained Georgian architecture of North Mall and Grenville Place.  Crossing Washington Street provided an opportunity to look at a streetscape featured in an article by Louise Harrington in the journal.  Not far from there, the group looked up at the impressive ramparts of Elizabeth Fort, before reaching St. Fin Barre’s Cathedral.

Richard Wood was the guide at the cathedral and he provided a fascinating tour of the building, both outside and then in the welcome dryness of the interior.  He is renowned for his encyclopaedic knowledge of the building which he imparts with energy and enthusiasm.  The cathedral was consecrated in 1870 and was designed in every detail by the English architect, William Burges.

Richard Wood then launched Irish Architectural and Decorative Studies: the Journal of the Irish Georgian Society.  He recalled the many campaigns with which the society was involved over the years and commended the journal to one and all.  Refreshments were then served, co-ordinated by Maura Currivan and Geraldine O’Riordan.  Thanks to Kevin Hurley for all his work in connection with the event.

No comments:

Post a Comment